The Results are In!


There is a clear winner from our first poll. We asked and you told us!

62% of you would like to see blog posts about affordable ways to design and get more “bang for your buck.”
23% were interested in “green” or energy efficient design.
15% were split between wanting to know about color trends and other topics.

So… let’s get to it! Last week we posted a link to a morning news broadcast. On this broadcast there were several great ideas to redecorating using what you already have. If you don’t have much to work with, like me, then try going out and using other people’s cast-offs. Local resale stores can prove to be a great resource for pieces to add to your decor. But can you REALLY transform a space with bargain bin junk? Yes, you can. The great way to jazz up an uninspired space is to create a conversation piece.

In my own home I was inspired by an old family friend also blessed (or cursed- however you see it) with creativity. She salvaged an old door and turned it into a headboard for her bed. That got me thinking about using a door as an art piece. I had a long wall in my living room that needed some love- my small heirloom table and lamp just weren’t doing the trick. In a quick trip to the Habitat Restore I found some paint ($10) and a sturdy door ($35) with the size panels I wanted. After a coat of paint, I glued mirrors ($18) and glass seed beads ($12) into the panel recesses for a more glamorous feel.

Even though the work was tedious, when all was said and done I had spent $75 on a large piece of art that would have cost hundreds to find a similar sized piece in a retail store. My mirrored door is the first thing that guests see when they walk into my home and I get compliments all the time. I’ve even had people ask if they can commission me to make a similar treasure for their own home. This affordable masterpiece took my drab living room and turned it into an artful expression. Not to mention it’s functionality as a final mirror check before running out the door!

Homework: Think about a lost piece of furniture in your home, a neglected corner, or an unsatisfied function that needs improvement. How can you update it or alter it’s function to suit you better? So dust off that old be-dazzler and give it a try. We’d love to see pictures! I’ll be waiting to see your projects with my own completed “homework” piece to show and tell.

  1. #1 by Elizabeth on February 9, 2011 - 4:07 pm

    I’ve made a headboard for my bedroom out of a door! It was so easy. All I did was attach some crown molding and a shelf to one side to look like a cap. It really IS the focal piece for the room- and it’s big enough for a king size bed! Everyone asks me if I got it from Pottery Barn 🙂

Leave a Reply

